Blackberry Cobbler

cobbler.jpg

When I was twelve years old, this was my favorite dessert to make on my own. I would come home from school and whip up a pan of blackberry cobbler. I liked the cobbler better than the berries, so I would put a minimal layer of berries with a double recipe of topping. Now that I am 29, I am willing to eat a few more blackberries. My sister gave me the idea of using creme brulee dishes for individual cobblers.

Blackberry Cobbler
makes 8 personal cobblers, or one 8X8 pan.

2 c. flour
1 c. sugar
1/2 c. shortening or margarine
2 eggs
1 t. salt
1 T baking powder
1 lb. black berries, thawed

Combine dry ingredients in a medium bowl. Cut in shortening. Stir in eggs. Mixture will be crumb like. Divide berries among dishes, or fill pan halfway with berries. Add crumb mixture on top of berries. Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes. Serve warm with ice cream or whip topping.


One comment


Leave a comment